Your Guide to Fender Bender Accidents in Fort Wayne, Indiana
According to a study cited by Forbes Magazine, the average American driver will be involved in approximately four traffic collisions over the course of their life. Even if you only get into a relatively minor fender bender, it is still stressful, frustrating, and sometimes overwhelming.
We want to make sure that you have all of the information and tools that you need to deal with a minor collision. Here, our Fort Wayne car accident lawyer answers some of the most frequently asked questions (FAQs) about fender benders.
Do I Have to Report a Fender Bender in Indiana?
Whether or not you have a duty to report the crash depends on the nature of the accident. Indiana law requires drivers to report traffic collisions if any person was injured or killed or if there was more than $1,000 in total property damage.
Obviously, it is not always clear exactly how property damage actually occurred in a fender bender. Though, as anyone who has taken their vehicle to a mechanic knows, not much damage is required to reach the $1,000 threshold. It is better to be on the safe side and to report fender benders — especially if another driver caused your accident.